kopf
seite
ISO-Certificate
germanenglishKoralewski Industrie-Elektronik oHG | Brigitta 26 | 29313 Hambühren | Tel +49 (0)5084 / 980050 | info@koralewski.de
impressum
back
Thermolab

ThermoLab - effective Body Core Temperature Measurement

There are different ways for measuring physical and psychological stresses. Deriving stress from body temperature, measured under scientifically established conditions, is one of them. The TL-08 ThermoLab is designed to capture and record the body core tempe- rature in the forehead and thoracic regions of a proband, whereby the temperature values are calculated from temperatures measured on the body's surface. ThermoLab hardware meets scientific requirements for core temperature measurement according to the thermal flow formula, as well as the technical and constructional requirements for use on the International Space Station ISS. Designed for use under extreme conditions, ThermoLab is particularly suitable for those, whose physical or mental condition must be determined quickly and effectively, such as highly stressed occupational groups and extreme sportspeople. Due to the ease of its handling, the use of ThermoLab is virtually unlimited.


Thermolab TL-08 in operation at the ISS
ThermoLab in space
Already in February 2009 the TL-08 came to the International Space Station with the russian cargo ship Progress M-66. Data acquisition is in process since October 2009. The scientists from the Center for Space Medicine in Berlin want to find out, how the body's core temperature behaves under stress in zero gravity.
Read the complete report, published in GoSpace:
pdf
GoSpace
number 04 (digest)

The functional principle:

The TL-08 ThermoLab Controller is used to measure temperature values from the surface and the area surrounding the corresponding measurement point on the proband’s skin. The device calculates the core body temperature from these values. Provided is the recording of temperature values by two double temperature sensors on the forehead and chest of the volunteers. The device is controlled by using one button and the corresponding response message on an LED, and via a four-line LC display (text display - 20 characters per line).

Two temperatures are captured from each of the two sensors: the body temperature of the subject and the environmental temperature at a specific distance from the first sensor. The core body temperature is calculated from the measured temperature values. The current determined core body temperature values, plus addi- tional information on duration of current measurement, battery charge state and available memory capacity, sensor type used, and the current date and time, are displayed on the screen during measurements.

The measured temperature values, as well as the hereby calculated core body temperatures are stored in the TL-08 along with the associated times in the 1 GB large flash block of the TL-08. Readout of the, in this way saved data, is done over an USB data cable, which can be connected to the device's combination jack instead of the temperature sensors. When connected to a PC system via the USB interface, ThermoLab behaves just like a commercially available external drive.

kopf
seite
ISO-Zertifikat
deutschenglischKoralewski Industrie-Elektronik oHG | Brigitta 26 | 29313 Hambühren | Tel +49 (0)5084 / 980050 | info@koralewski.de
impressum
zurück
Thermolab

ThermoLab - effektive Körperkerntemperaturbestimmung

Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten physische und psychische Belastungen zu messen. Die Ableitung der Belastung über die, unter wissenschaftlich festgelegten Bedingungen gemessene Körpertem-peratur ist eine davon. ThermoLab TL-08 dient der Erfassung und Protokollierung der Körperkerntemperatur im Bereich von Stirn und Brust eines Probanden, wobei die Temperaturwerte aus - an der Körperoberfläche - gemessenen Temperaturen ermittelt werden. Die ThermoLab Hardware erfüllt die wissenschaftlichen Anforderungen für die Kerntemperaturbestimmung nach der Wärmeflussformel, sowie die technisch-konstruktiven Anforderungen zum Einsatz auf der internationalen Raumstation ISS. Für den Einsatz unter Extrembedin-gungen entwickelt, eignet sich ThermoLab besonders gut für all jene, deren physisches oder psychisches Befinden schnell und effektiv ermittelt werden muss, wie z.B. besonders beanspruchte Berufs-gruppen und Extremsportler. Dank seiner komfortablen Handhabung, sind dem Einsatz von ThermoLab kaum Grenzen gesetzt.


Thermolab TL-08 im Einsatz auf der ISS
ThermoLab im All
Bereits im Februar 2009 gelangte das TL-08 mit dem russischen Transportfrachter Progress M-66 auf die internationale Raumstation ISS, seit Oktober 2009 läuft die Datenerhebung. Die Wissenschaftler vom Zentrum für Weltraummedizin Berlin wollen herausfinden, wie sich die Körperkerntemperatur unter Belastung in der Schwerelosigkeit verhält. Lesen Sie den vollständigen, in GoSpace veröffentlichten Bericht:
pdf
GoSpace
Heft 04 (Auszug)

Die Funktionsweise:

Mit dem ThermoLab - Controller TL-08 werden Temperaturwerte von der Hautoberfläche sowie der Umgebung des entsprechenden Messpunktes am Probanden gemessen. Aus diesen Werten ermittelt das Gerät die jeweilige Körperkerntemperatur. Vorgesehen ist die Erfassung der Temperaturwerte durch zwei Doppeltemperatursensoren an Stirn und Brust des Probanden. Über eine Taste und die entsprechende Rückmeldung mittels Leuchtdiode und über ein vierzeiliges LC-Display (Textdisplay – 20 Zeichen je Zeile) erfolgt die Bedienung des Gerätes.

Von jedem der beiden Sensoren werden zwei Tempe- raturen erfasst: die Körpertemperatur des Probanden und die Umgebungstemperatur in einem definierten Abstand zum ersten Messfühler. Aus den gemessenen Temperaturwerten wird die Körperkerntemperatur er- rechnet. Während einer Messung werden die aktuell ermittelten Kerntemperaturwerte, ergänzt um zusätzliche Informationen zur bisherigen Dauer der Messung, zu Batterieladung und freier Speicherkapazität, zum ver- wendeten Sensortyp, sowie das aktuelle Datum und die Uhrzeit auf dem Display ausgegeben.

Die gemessenen Temperaturwerte, sowie die hieraus berechneten Körperkerntemperaturen werden nebst den dazugehörigen Zeiten in einem internen 1 GByte großen Flash - Baustein des TL-08 gespeichert. Das Auslesen der so gesicherten Daten erfolgt über ein USB - Daten- kabel, das alternativ zu den Temperaturfühlern an die Kombisteckbuchse des Gerätes angeschlossen wird. Mit der USB - Schnittstelle eines PC-Systems verbunden, verhält sich ThermoLab wie ein handelsüblicher externer Datenträger.